Gravity not low enough?

This is a place where people can ask questions about brewing. Hopefully, someone who is more knowledgable about brewing will respond.

Moderator: Jimmy Orkin

ABV

Gravity not low enough?

Post by ABV »

I am new to this first of all. I have brewed 5 different beers so far.(extract) Most everything I have brewed has met or come really close to hitting the specific gravity. Right now I am fermenting a Russian Imperial Stout. The original gravity was supposed to be 1.078-1.082. When I finnished brewing and took a reading, I got a OG of 1.066. After fermenting for a week, I took a reading before racking into the secondary fermenter and I was only at 1.030. The FG is supposed to be at 1.017-1.020. I am a little confused. Do you guys think this beer will finnish fermenting in the secondary to get the correct FG, or did I do something wrong? I am brewing from an extract kit and pitched the yeast right into the fermentor(per instructions). I was hoping for an Imperial Stout, not a stout. Any help or answers would be helpful! Thanks in advance.

Jason
egens

Re: Gravity not low enough?

Post by egens »

You say your using an extract kit. That would make it hard to miss your O.G. by that much. You would have to have forgotten about 2-3 pounds of extract. So, my guess is you actually hit your target O.G., but got a bad hydrometer reading. (I believe this has happened to me too. In my case I think the culprit was not mixing after I topped the carboy up with water. Even though the liquid looked homogeneous, so I got a lower reading than I should have.

Now working from the assumption that you started around 1.080, you're yeast have dropped the beer to 1.030, so 50 gravity points, in about a week. That sounds about right. My guess is that they probably do have at least another 10 points in them, but it will take at least another week to do it. This is a big beer, and big beers take more than a week to reach final gravity.

- Erich
- Erich Gens
BigWally