New Here

Discussions about beer, life, that sort of thing

Moderator: Jimmy Orkin

RyanWeary

New Here

Post by RyanWeary »

Hello fellow brewers!

I'm new to the message boards and the NTHBA in general, however I'm not that new to brewing. I've been brewing for about 10 years, but only all grain brewing for the last two years or so. I've been getting into more and more technical aspects of brewing and am very interested in learning from those more experienced than me.

So, I guess my question is.......how do I go about becoming active with NTHBA? I'm really interested in hanging out and learning from other people. Brewing beer is a hobby of mine that I never get tired of talking about and participating in. I'm also interested in entering competition with a few of recipes I've developed to see how I fare against others. I'd also like to learn how to judge others crafts and learn.

Anyways, thanks for taking the time to read my ramblings. I hope to get to know you folks soon!

-Ryan
“I feel sorry for people who don't drink. When they wake up in the morning, that's as good as they're going to feel all day.” ~ Frank Sinatra
BigWally

Re: New Here

Post by BigWally »

Glad you found us. We meet on the second Tuesday of each month. We have monthly brewdays and 4 parties during the year. The web site has the monthly meeting locations as well as informtion on parties etc. Membership applications maybe found on our newsletters or at Homebrew Headquarters in Richardson or The Winemakers Toy Store in Carrollton. Please join us on February 20 for the brewday.
Maybe the purpose of your life is to serve as a warning to others.
RyanWeary

Post by RyanWeary »

Thanks BigWally. I have been a "member" in the literal sense through HBHQ for the discounts. I've just never participated in any events. I saw that the BrewDay is in Parker on the 20th this year. That's an awfully long drive for me out of south Dallas!