Indoor Hop plant experiment, where to get rhizones in july/a

Discussions about beer, life, that sort of thing

Moderator: Jimmy Orkin

bcotton

Indoor Hop plant experiment, where to get rhizones in july/a

Post by bcotton »

I have been brewing beer for a few years and I want to expand my brewing experience by growing my own hops. The main problem being , i live in an apartment. This old thread from real beer has inspired me to try and grow hops indoors, aeroponically.

http://www.realbeer.com/discussions/sho ... eadid=8063

I am not an experienced grower of anything but I am absorbing all the information google has to offer. I have actually built a system similar to the one xian built in the thread.

yesterday , i started my search for finding the rhizomes to start my experiment and found out that noone has rhizomes this time of year and (from what i read) i shouldnt expect a rhizome from march to still grow.

Apparently, july is the planting season in australia but I am not certain of the legalities of trying to import hop rhizomes.

Does anyone have any suggestions on where/how I can find rhizomes in july/august to begin my 1st growth cycle?

Thanks,
Brian
bcotton

Re: Indoor Hop plant experiment, where to get rhizones in july/a

Post by bcotton »

Well, i found a guy on ebay selling cascade rhizomes. I would prefer not-cascade but i guess i am just that desperate. I asked him how old they were and he said 7 months.. but that he has kept them in the fridge, they are still firm and he has gotten 4 of 4 attempts to sprout with the latest "test" being as little as a month ago.

I went ahead and ordered them and today i got the 2 rhizomes. I figure it beats waiting til march to start my indoor garden. They came folded in a wet paper towel, packaged inside a ziplock back, inside packing media, inside a small manila envelope.